Project C: Summary of Interrogation

For my analysis, I wanted to analyze a series of objects with both interesting symbology and cultural significance. I considered coins, state license plates, or state flags. I chose flags because of their interesting symbols and relation to human culture. I narrowed down the flags to Iowa and 5 surrounding states: Nebraska, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, and Missouri.

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 4.52.01 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 4.52.20 PM.png

I used the Chapters 4, 5, and 7 from Theo van Leeuwen and Carey Jewitt’s Handbook of Visual Analysis as three different methods of analysis: Cultural Studies, Semiotics and Iconography, and Social Semiotics. I answered questions about the images posed by the various methods. For example, Cultural Studies asked about the context of the image and the point of view it is viewed from. States flags are typically viewed from below near a government building because the flag is for everyone. Everyone can see it and it represents the government’s jurisdiction over its people. My Semiotic and Iconographic analysis resulted in comparison charts of the denotative elements of the flags in order to locate commonalities.

Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 4.52.31 PM.png

My Social Semiotic analysis led me to consider what it means that almost every analyzed state flag has some reference to the United States in it. My theory is that since these states were added to the union much later than the thirteen original colonies, they felt the need to prove that they were a part of the team. In the same vein, the Social Semiotic method asked the question “how are elements arranged in the image?” In almost every case, the flags had a central, circle containing information specific to the state like mottos, names, founding years, etc. surrounded by a plain background. This could signify state pride, individuality, and heritage within the larger context of the country as a whole.

 

2 thoughts on “Project C: Summary of Interrogation

  1. Monica, analyzing flags is a fantastic idea, and it is one that I wish I would have thought of. I think you analysis that says because these states were not part of the original 13 colonies that they felt the need to say that they were “in the club.” I also think that these flags symbolize their role in the U.S. Civil War, where they earned their keep. In fact, where I come from (Chattanooga, TN), down the street is a huge monument to the state of Iowa, which is at the base of Missionary Ridge. Appartantly, the soliders charged up this ridge with great courage (and many deaths). The flag, in this way, could represent how Iowa not only wants to be part of the original “13” but also wishes to illustrate how it gave its sons and daugters’ blood to defend the U.S. The eagle seems to be prominent in this regard.
    Furthermore, the colors evoke a patriotic sense as they mirror the colors of the U.S. flag. The ribbons also remind me of 19th century flags whose textual emblem reinforces their own citizens beliefs about rights and liberties.

    Like

  2. When I first saw the state flags, I think it is interesting that most of them are using the colors on the US national flags as their primary color.
    After looking at these six flags, I figure out that if you didn’t narrow down the flags, a method that was mentioned in Handbook of Visual Analysis, “Content Analysis of Visual Images” in chapter two could also be an option to categorize all the state flags.

    Like

Leave a Reply

